Meet Leakhena (Leah) Tappero!

Continuing in our APIDA Spotlight Series, we’re excited to introduce to you all Leah Tappero! Below you can learn more about Leah!

lhtappero - Leakhena Tappero

Dr. Leakhena Heng Tappero (she/her/hers) is a first generation, refugee, Cambodian-Chinese American. Dr. Tappero received her Bachelors of Arts and Master of Arts in Psychology from San Diego State University. She received her Master of Science in Counseling, Family and Human Services and her Counseling Psychology Ph.D. at the University of Oregon. She completed her pre-doctoral internship at California State University Long Beach Counseling and Psychological Services. She completed her post-doctoral residency at the University of California San Diego Counseling and Psychological Services, where she currently works as a Counseling Psychologist. Her multicultural identities and life experiences shapes her work as a mental health provider. She is passionate about serving and supporting members of underrepresented and marginalized populations.

What has lead to you pursue a career in student affairs and higher education?
I am a first-generation college graduate, refugee, and an Asian American woman, to name a few of my identities. Like other refugee families, education has always been important to my parents, as they were unable to pursue their educational endeavors because of the Khmer Rouge War. I grew up in the inner-city community of City Heights in San Diego, CA with other refugee and immigrant families. Many families in my neighborhood were affected by the trauma experienced in their homeland, socio-cultural issues, economic stress and language barriers associated with living in the U.S. However, many families who suffered did not seek help within or outside of our community. As an undergraduate student I struggled to find my place until my junior year of college when I was connected with peers and faculty mentors in the NIMH-COR Research Program at San Diego State University. This new academic network enriched my college experience and fostered my identity as an Asian American refugee college student. Given my own journey of struggle, resilience, and mentor/community support I gained an interest and passion for working with college students. I chose a full-time staff position at a university counseling center so that I can better understand and serve the needs of underrepresented and marginalized college students.

How has your APIDA identity impacted your experience within student affairs and higher education?
As an undergraduate student I struggled to find my place in college. I was going through the motions of attending classes and getting good grades, but I did not feel connected to the university. When I looked around my campus and the classrooms I did not see students who looked like me or students who came from similar backgrounds. My parents were unable to provide me with academic support or guide me through my studies because they had never attended school in the US. It was difficult asking for help because I wasn’t sure how to navigate the college system or know about the resources offered to students. When I knew about resources on campus it was difficult to ask for help. The model minority myth impacted me in different ways because when I needed help and asked for it, some people dismissed it and didn’t believe I was struggling. As a woman of color there were challenges while navigating the higher education system, especially when I needed to advocate for myself and be assertive when I experienced discrimination and microaggressions.

What is one of your favorite resources when working with students (e.g., technology/app, book, icebreaker, group activity)?
As a counseling psychologist I work with students to address a variety of psychosocial stressors and mental health concerns. We discuss the importance of learning and practicing coping strategies to help them manage stressors related to academics, family, interpersonal relationships, finances, career and post-graduation concerns, etc. I recommend utilizing deep breathing exercises and mindfulness meditation. One great and FREE app is Headspace!

What (people, places, events, etc.) has influenced you? Why?
Being a refugee and growing up in the diverse community of City Heights in San Diego as a 1.5 generation Asian American has influenced me in all areas of my life. The US is a multiracial, multicultural, and multilingual society. Having the opportunity to grow up in a refugee and immigrant community in San Diego has taught me valuable life lessons that I take with me in my personal and professional life. An essential part of my clinical practice is to engage in self-reflection and examination of how my own multicultural identity influences my work with individuals from diverse backgrounds. I contribute this value to my childhood and adolescence in City Heights.

Who inspires you? Why?
All the college students that I have worked with in the past eight years inspires me! I’ve worked with many students in my roles as an academic advisor, instructor, counselor, and supervisor. The strength, vulnerability, resiliency, and grit to continue pursuing their dreams and goals during difficult and challenging life experiences is inspiring to me. I am grateful for the opportunity to collaborate and support them.

Best way for APAN members to contact Leah is by email: LTappero@ucsd.edu

Leave a comment